Ohio Personal Injury Laws & Statistics

Personal injury laws vary widely by state. If you’ve been the victim in a personal injury incident due to the negligence of another, it pays to understand the laws here in Ohio and how they may affect you should you choose to seek compensation.

$1,097,900,000 - total cost to society of unintentional injuries in the U.S. in 2019

What’s Causing Injuries in Ohio?

Accidents are the 3rd leading cause of death in Ohio. Ohio is ranked 4th in the country when it comes to the number of fatal accidents.

The most common personal injury claims include:

car icon Car accidents

falling icon Slip and fall accidents

medical icon Medical malpractice

factory icon Workplace accidents

falling icon Premises liability

product icon Product liability

construction injury icon Construction accidents

dog icon Dog bites

Statute of Limitations

Simply put, a statute of limitations is a law that imposes a strict time limit on a civil lawsuit, including personal injury.

Statute of limitations in Ohio:

Personal Bodily Injury - 2 years. Property Damages - 2 years. Injuries from Defective Products or Warning Labels - 2 years. Injuries Occurring on Someone Else’s Property - 2 years. Medical Malpractice - 1 year.

That’s why it’s so important that you don’t wait to file your case. You never want to find out that it’s too late to receive compensation that you otherwise would have been eligible for. Want to learn more? See our statute of limitations blog post.

Proving negligence and fighting for the compensation you deserve

Pursuing a personal injury case isn’t just about “winning.” It’s about getting your life back. Let’s look at how to do that.

To prove negligence in Ohio, you must prove four elements:

  1. You were owed a duty of reasonable care by the person who injured you
  2. That person acted unreasonably and did not fulfill that duty
  3. Their unreasonable actions were the cause of your injury
  4. Because of their unreasonable actions, you suffered damages

Types of damages you can sue for in Ohio in a personal injury case include:

compensatory icon

Compensatory Damages

Economic and non-economic losses suffered from your injuries
punitive icon

Punitive Damages

Ohio law allows you to seek damages meant to punish the person who hurt you

The most important step you can take to put yourself in the best possible position to win the money you deserve is to hire a great personal injury lawyer.

If you or a loved one were injured due to the fault of another, contact the attorneys at LaSalvia Law. We will fight to win you the compensation you deserve.


Step 1


Step 2


You can expect to hear from Christine 1-2 days after submitting your inquiry.

Step 3


Pay nothing up front. No fee until your case is settled or tried to a jury.